top of page
  • Writer's picturepamelapope88

34 Guilty Counts

Plog Number 301

34 Guilty Counts



     Hello Plogger's how are you. I hope you are enjoying this summery stretch. It was so nice here, I stayed home and enjoyed my house and yard. Once the flowers💐 are planted, I spend a lot of time 👀 admiring them. So that is what I did this morning. Things are so volatile politically right now, I have chosen to balance beauty with ugliness. But the Alvin Bragg indictment is something worth👍 noting. I was watching a recap from the past and apparently many pundits didn't think he even had a good case. There was not a lot of faith in his ability to prevail on the case, yet he did.👏👏👏

I think it is so good for the country to see 45 get some consequences after he did wrong. When I have done wrong in the past, I had my hands slapped in some way. Most of us have. It is reinforcing of good faith to see this actual criminal conviction. No one is above the law. My sister passed away in 2021. She was a vehement news watcher. She really wanted to see 45 get his comuppance. She never did. I am sure that many people lost their lives without ever seeing this guy go to trial and be found guilty. For my sister and all those who longed to see this happen, "here it is". It took awhile but it is just as sweet no matter when it happened. Sorry you weren't here to see it but I am😊 smiling and thinking of you in this crucial moment. Many say it is sad for our country, but so is war, and death and injustice yet still those things exist. I think it is far more sad that the country ever gave the Presidency to a lying, misogynistic, racist buffoon. That was sad for the whole country, for sure!

     The jury system is one of the best things we have in this country. Juries don’t always get it right but in some cases they do. I know that I would prefer a jury trial over a jurist (Judge or Bench) trial. Twelve people coming to a unanimous decision versus one person seems way fairer to me. As a prior prosecutor, I know that juries are in a unique position to 👂 hear all of the evidence. We outsiders do not get that. They also get the see the defendant’s reactions and unless they are a true Sociopath, their expressions say it all. Juries also are instructed in the elements of a crime and are told to determine if the facts meet the elements. It is very straightforward. Also, the jury is picked partially by each side. They get to eliminate people for cause or just because. I have a lot of respect for juries. When you look at judges like Aileen Cannon you can see how partisan they can be. If that wasn’t enough, just look at the Supreme Court justices and how they are compromised by private and special interests. They participate in cases where they have a personal interest and conflict. Now we know that Justice Alito showed his support for 45 by flying his flag upside down after the 2020 election. No 🚫 sir, I would take a jury any day.

     But back to 45. His criminal and felony case is set for sentencing on July 11, 2024. I predict that he will get jail time. But I also predict that the jail time will be suspended. The suspension can be lifted and enforced if he errs on the side of crime again. That has happened many times. The Defendants themselves are in charge of whether they stay out of jail or not. So we will see what happens in this case. Remember 34 Felony charges for anyone else would most definitely involve jail time. In a world where the Republican party of law and order has a convicted felon as their candidate, anything can happen. RECLAIM!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page