top of page
  • Writer's picturepamelapope88

Akron Shooting

Plog Number 288

Akron Shooting

 



     Howdie Ploggers, how are you doing. I hope all is good with you. It is Wednesday night here so it is Pre-weekend here. A great time of the week. I also noticed that there are flowers everywhere. Plenty of 🌷tulips,🌻 daffodils and a few crocus are still around. That is very encouraging to me to see.

     Well there has been a shooting in Ohio, but this one is different than I usually talk about. Akron is about an hour’s drive from where I live. The victim survived. He is a 15 year old black young man named Tavion Koonce-Williams. He was shot in the wrist on April 1 by Officer Ryan Westlake. Tavion was carrying a toy 🔫 gun and said so numerous times as he quickly got down on the ground on his stomach. The police officer had previously been fired in 2021 after a history of disciplinary issues. The Officer is now on paid administrative leave. The Officer had also been disciplined for an “off duty" incident while extremely 🍸 intoxicated in Florida.

     The victim was treated and sent home. While on the ground he loudly said, while crying “Please, officer, I’m a good kid. Bro, I get A’s in school. I play football🏈, I just wanted to be safe. My cousin just⚰️ died.’ Tavion says, sobbing explaining that he had come from his cousin’s funeral.  

     The story could have turned out much worse. I am thrilled that the victim survived. Akron Police officers had a situation about 2 years ago when they shot Jayland Walker over 90 times. His body was so riddled with bullets, yet they still handcuffed him when placing him in the police car. Walker was unarmed at the time.

     Ohio is an open carry state with no need for a permit. The kid was too young to have a gun, yet he did. I also remember when Kyle Rittenhouse was running around in Kenosha, Wisconsin. He had a large automatic weapon and carried it openly. He was never shot or harassed by officers and he went on to kill multiple people. I think when it comes to carrying a weapon in an open carry state, things go far better for you if you are white. RECLAIM!

    

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page