top of page
  • Writer's picturepamelapope88

November 7, 2023 VOTE and RECLAIM

Plog 238

November 7, 2023 VOTE and RECLAIM



Hello Ploggers, how are you. Today was a warm and lovely day here in my neck of the woods. I was a shopping maniac and that felt good. Groceries I had to do. I skipped out on it last weekend so this week the shelves were getting bare. We had door dashed and had take-out so much I felt guilty for not cooking. This week I can provide🍇 food from my own pantry. Going to the Mall was much more fun than the grocery store. I got my fix for Sephora, Lush and Auntie Annie’s Pretzel and 🍺Slushie lunch. I am one of the few people who still enjoys malls and food courts just like it was 1999.

But I rushed home because I wanted to write this last plog before we all go to the Polls next Tuesday. In case any undecided voters are out there, I hope they read my plog and become less undecided. In Ohio we have the chance to vote on Abortion. Virginia and Kentucky also have the issue on their ballots. It is a huge national and statewide issue. We all know about the Supreme Court’s reversal of Roe v Wade last year. The far right leaning justices and over 50 years of behind the scenes planning came together for a disastrous reversal of women’s rights.

If the loss of our rights wasn’t bad enough, the disdain for our health is akin to Third World sensibilities. Women lost the control over their own bodies. Doctors lost control over their ability to practice 💉medicine and to save lives. We all went one step deeper into a story from the Handmaids Tale. We saw a negative slide towards👎 theocracy and👎 sexism. It felt like we went backwards in time. But, I saw a meme today with a picture of the Wicked Witch’s striped stocking legs sticking out of the ground with the caption “You had the power all along…VOTE!” I loved it.

That is where we are. Our reproductive rights were a part of our lives for 50 years. I personally took them for granted for most of my life. But now we have lost them. But we also have the opportunity to get them back.

So there it is in a 🌰 nutshell. Vote early, vote by mail, vote in person. But vote for women to have the right to control their bodies. The reason for this entire plog and the sign off to all of them is RECLAIM!!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page