top of page
  • Writer's picturepamelapope88

Paying our Taxes

Plog Number 119

Paying our Taxes




Hello Ploggers, how are you? I am hoping that we are all floating through this ❄️ wintry month. It doesn’t matter if we get through it with style and grace or lumbering along as long as we do just that. Get through your days and your lives.

I was re-thinking about Kevin McCarthy’s first speech and legislation he put forth in his new position. He vowed to cut back on the IRS so that they are not able to come after Americans. Well Kevin, I don’t think that most Americans are worried about the IRS coming after them. Most middle class Americans pay their taxes, period! Speaking as a middle class American, I know that I will wind up in jail if I don’t pay my taxes. My taxes are taken out before I even get paid. No one ever asks me if I want to pay these taxes or not. Whenever I have started a new job thee just hand me the required tax sheet and I ✏️ sign it in order to proceed with the job. At the end of the tax year, I pay an accountant to see how much I have paid versus what I owe and we even up the score. Why don’t the millionaires and billionaires in this country do that? Why are they so hell bent on NOT paying their fair share of taxes?

I have heard that 45 paid around 💸$500 in taxes one of the years he was in the White House. He should be in jail for that alone. I remember when on the debate stage with Hillary Clinton he smirked and said he was smart for not paying taxes. People applauded him for that and he was able to pass a MASSIVE tax cut for the wealthy while in office. December 19, 2017 the Senate passed the Tax Reduction Act. 45 and Paul Ryan passed the biggest tax break ever for the wealthy while putting the burden on the middle class 👀 . Budget and deficit be damned! This tax break was for the wealthiest persons and corporations. The tax cuts increased the deficit and caused cuts to public services. The corporate tax rate was cut to 20%. This caused a $1.8 trillion loss which was supposed to be made up by imposing a 20% sales tax on all imported goods to be passed on to consumers. They also eliminated the Estate and gift 🎁 taxes for estates worth more than $5.5 million. The top tax rate was cut from 40% to 33% on annual incomes of about half a million dollars or more. The rate for Hedge Fund pass throughs was cut from 40% to 25%.

This act put the American budget at risk while putting more and more money into the hands of the super💲 wealthy. It also put a heavier tax burden on the MIDDLE CLASS. I had no idea that Paul Ryan was such a 👹 monster. He is a private citizen now but he has left a mark on this country. I do believe in talking and exposing things, but this one is painful. That is what a Republican lead House and Senate and Presidency did for us. The 115th Congress was a Trifecta for Republicans 💩 and they certainly took advantage of it. Oy and RECLAIM

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Plog

bottom of page