top of page
  • Writer's picturepamelapope88

That Guy

Plog Number 17



Hello all, how are you doing? I was looking for my car in a parking lot earlier today and I had a weird experience. If you know me, you know that I love Line Dancing or as I call it “Man-less Dancing”. You don’t need a partner to fully enjoy yourself and to feel included. It is great exercise, fun and good for your mind and memory. I was at a Line Dance Workshop at a large hotel which had many meeting rooms. I got kind of lost in the parking lot but I kept on walking. Then off to my left I saw this guy standing and obsessing on his phone. He looked like a hotel patron who just happened to be in the parking lot at the same time I was. The thing about this guy was the way he was dressed. He had on a pair of black swim trunks. Eww! That’s it. So much was wrong about this and I will explain. As I was walking I encircled the entire hotel once because I couldn’t find my car. At some point I began to think about this tool bag. His body wasn’t particularly great. He looked middle age and somehow he had no business being out in public dressed that scantily. But I kept on walking. Then a woman close to my age saw me and got out of her car and walked along side me. We exchanged words and the first thing she said was “Did you see that guy?” She let me know that she saw him dressed as he was and thought he was a threat. She waited until she saw me and then decided to get out of her car and zipped into the hotel (Females feel safety in numbers). We wished each other a good day and went on with our lives.

Before I met with this lady I was thinking, why is this idiot standing out here almost naked? A woman would never do that, because we would be concerned with things like cellulite, gravitational boobs and how we would be perceived. This guy could have been concerned with these things too, but he was not. I think he had a mind that told him that he was “Fine as wine” and that he would do the rest of us a favor and show us his goods. In our brief encounter, I saw everything he had shy of his genitalia. This was all not my intention and actually against my will, but there I was. I found it funny that the other lady waited for me to come along before exiting her car. I said as much to her and she agreed and we cheerfully went our separate ways. What gives white males (or any male) the nerve to do outrageous things like this? I believe it is a firm belief in the fact that you are on the TOP of the figurative mountain. As a white male everyone else falls somewhere beneath you. This guy knew it. In his mind he thought his body looked as good as a young Patrick Swayze dancing with Chris Farley in an old SNL skit LOL. He did not! If you want a belly laugh, just pull it up and watch.

But it is all in your own attitude. We as women have to have the attitude that we are confident and powerful BECAUSE WE ARE. We vote in large numbers. We are the majority of the population. We read, discern, listen, reason and we are smart. I think we sat on our reproductive rights but we are more awake now. We cannot afford to sleep again and we won’t. Voting along with our spouses is not a necessary evil. No one sees what you did inside that voting booth. Our votes are sacred and private, so let’s VOTE BLUE! There I said it. Have a great day.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Plog

bottom of page