top of page
  • Writer's picturepamelapope88

The influence of TV

Plog Number 34

TV’s Influence



Hello everyone, how are you all. I hope each of you is feeling great. I find myself home in the middle of the day. As usual I have my TV on for background and company. Reruns of Sex and the City are on. Right now is the one where Amanda found out she was pregnant. The Episode was called Coulda Woulda Shoulda and was filmed in 2001. The episode was around the time when Charlotte was desperate to have a baby with Trey but couldn’t conceive. It seemed as if everyone wanted Amanda to have the child and in frustration/sarcasm she exclaimed with arms lifted, “I’m having Steve’s baby, pizza for everyone”. The episode walked viewers through how difficult a decision abortion is. The guilt, the judgment, missed opportunity and more. In this case Amanda decided against it and later gave birth to Brady. But it was a legal and safe option for her.

A while ago I saw a rerun of Maude where she thought she was pregnant. The episode was called “Maude’s Dilemma” and was filmed in November 1972. Roe v Wade wouldn’t be decided until 1973. So it was controversial to put the topic on a popular nationally syndicated television show. Maude was 47 and not expecting to get pregnant. The episode explored the options Maude considered surrounding her pregnancy. I think she opted for an abortion with her husband’s blessing to do “whatever she felt was best”. They kind of didn’t show her actual decision, but they never showed a baby so the audience was left to draw their own conclusion. But it was interesting that a show from way back then would have had the discussion about women’s right to choose. I am pretty sure that other shows have tackled the subject. These two come to my mind when I think about abortion in the media. If you have others in mind please contact me and share.

It is ironic to think that shows from the 1970's portrayed women with more rights than have we currently. I wonder what future shows will do about our current state of affairs. Women who formerly had reproductive rights but in the blink of an eye have lost them, laugh track inserted here. It would take really good writers to make that into a funny sitcom. Hope is not all gone. Some states still have legal abortion. The Senate is about to vote on the Women’s health protection act of 2021. I hear more and more about increasing the size of the Supreme Court and diluting the current majority. It’s also good to know the lengths that our opponents will go to control and suppress women and other vulnerable groups. You have to know your enemies before you can fight them. I have a feeling that things will change. They always do.

RECLAIM

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Plog

bottom of page