top of page
  • Writer's picturepamelapope88

Twice as hard for half as much

Plog Number 287

Twice as Hard for Half as Much

 




     Hello Ploggers, how are you. I hope you all enjoyed the Solar 🌘Eclipse two days ago. I thought it was magical. I feel blessed to have been able to see and to experience it. It made me connect to space, time, ancestors who have experienced it and the grandness of the earth. Some of these feelings caught me by surprise. I didn’t know that I would be as awed by it as I was. I feel strangely renewed and for that I am thankful.

     The news here in Cleveland was all about the eclipse and the NCAA 🏀Women’s basketball tournament. It was held in Cleveland this year. I am not a sports following person, but I had no choice but to know about this one. It was everywhere. The media had a clear darling named Caitlyn Clark from Iowa. She was the lead story the entire week. But her team did not win. The team from South Carolina won. They came into the game with a perfect 🎊record of 38-0. Quite impressive. The Southern team won the whole🎉 shebang. The mid-western darling and her team lost. The season is now over for the girls, and they move on and go back to their lives. My beef is with the way the media reported on the game.

     The reporters started with “there is sadness in the sports world today!” and ended with “South Carolina won the NCAA championship game.”  They expressed so much sympathy for poor Caitlyn. They expressed so little praise for the South Carolina team, even though they were STELLAR!

     Have you ever heard the idiom “Black women have to work twice as hard for half as much”? This scenario is the most perfect example one could ever have as an illustration of that point. I did a Tik Tok about this and posted it on Instagram and Facebook. Other people have posted similar videos. Many of us saw this sports coverage and how lopsided it was. I am just one of many people who spoke out about it.

      So this post will be short.

     It is there for anyone to research and fact check.

I am personally very proud of this South Carolina team.

     I hope you are too. RECLAIM!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page