top of page
  • Writer's picturepamelapope88

Voting

Plog Number 37

Voting




Good Afternoon fellow Ploggers. Happy Election Day. Today Tuesday August 2, 2022 is an election day here in Ohio. Yes I do write my plog a day or two ahead of the publishing date. We don’t usually have elections in August. Its usually just the May Primaries and the November General Election. I was thinking that this election was to deal with the big gerrymandering that the Republicans did in the state. It was!. The election was a second primary to allow everyone a chance to be on the ballot with the newly drawn districts. There were no Levys, or Judges, just local state and county representatives. I am glad that I went to vote because it allowed me to have my say. The Polls closed at 7 pm and I probably got there at 6:45. I rarely miss an election and will try even harder to always vote henceforth. It is more important than ever. Even if not a big race, my ancestors were tortured and killed in order for me to have the right, so therefore I MUST VOTE! I took my daughter with me. She just recently turned 18 and her registration is on its way. She will be ready to go in November. We are not a purple family or a red family, we are a blue family. We took Sophie with us and took pictures in 2008 so she could see us vote for Obama the first time. Being able to vote for a black candidate was our role model dream come true.

I am doing something I tell myself not to do. But I do it anyways. I am really worried about the Reactionary SCOTUS. When they reconvene they will be taking up even more life changing legal issues. The Moore v. Harper case could end Democracy as we know it. Even though our Democratic process is not perfect, it is far better than what it could be. If this case goes the way many expect, it could hand all of the decision making power around elections to the individual states. How scary is that when people like 45 call electors and say they only need 11, 780 more votes? It would be like putting in your order for the votes you want. They could decide which candidates win elections. They could also nullify our votes if they don’t suit them by shrinking our districts. If they are Republican controlled, it will be good for Republicans. If Democrats are in charge, it will be good for Democrats. But either way it will not reflect the will of the voters. 😭. The power to regulate Federal elections currently rests with the federal Government without interference from State courts. If this case is overturned the States would have that power. The lower court's holding also discusses Gerrymandering of districts in its decision. The States currently do not have the legal right to do so. If the case goes down, the States will have the power to draw districts as a legal right. Ohio did it but had some trouble and lots of interference and legal challenges. Those legal challenges would not exist if the Harper decision falls as precedent.

So it is really scary. I hope I have explained that North Carolina case effectively. Keep your ears open on that one. Years of prep went into the takedown of Roe and it looks like the same thing is happening with voting rights. People have carefully brought lawsuits that make their way up to the very selective Supremes and Voila. They plan and wait patiently for the right time and court to come along. So lets see what happens to voting rights in Moore v Harper.

As a preview, I will be plogging about the Kansas election results in a later post. I have a lot of thoughts about the land of Dorothy and Toto. Go Kansas.

RECLAIM

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Plog

bottom of page